Skip navigation
Social Media
Email IconTranslate

Council for the Day

City of WaterlooCouncil for the DayCouncil for the day group photo, 2015

Council for the Day

The Council for the Day contest is open to all Grade 5 students in Waterloo. Eight (8) winners are chosen based on their ideas for making Waterloo an even better place to live. One of the winners is named mayor of Waterloo for the day and introduces Mayor Jaworsky at his State of the City. The other seven students serve as councillors.

After reviewing dozens of submissions, Mayor Jaworsky has selected the following eight Grade 5 students for his 2016 Council for the Day:

  • Mayor Michaela Sheinin, from Lexington Public School;
  • Ward 1 Councillor Elaine Wen, K-W Bilingual School;
  • Ward 2 Councillor Jacinta Jameson, from Vista Hills Public School;
  • Ward 3 Councillor Uzair Memon, from Northlake Woods Public School;
  • Ward 4 Councillor Jack Sullivan, Lester B. Pearson Public School;
  • Ward 5 Councillor Mackenzie Dupuis, from Mère Élizabeth Bruyère Catholic School;
  • Ward 6 Councillor Grace Kennedy, from Keatsway Public School; and
  • Ward 7 Councillor Parasmai Conjeevaram, from Elizabeth Ziegler Public School.

The group will accompany Mayor Jaworsky at the State of the City, and will share their winning ideas during his address.

Thank you to everybody who submitted a contest entry. 

All eight winners:

  • Attend Mayor Jaworsky's State of the City
  • Enjoy lunch with Mayor Jaworsky
  • Tour different city facilities
  • Conduct media interviews
  • And much more!

More information

This is an annual contest for any Grade 5 student in Waterloo.

The Grade 5 curriculum is the first time students learn about local government, which makes this a suitable contest for that age group. This is an annual contest and it will open again in February 2018.