Skip navigation
Social Media
Email IconTranslate

Council for the Day

City of WaterlooCouncil for the DayCouncil for the day group photo, 2015

Council for the Day

The 2018 contest is now open!

Eight (8) winners are chosen based on their ideas for making Waterloo an even better place to live. One of the winners is named mayor of Waterloo for the day and introduces Mayor Jaworsky at his State of the City. The other seven students serve as councillors for the day.

Contest guidelines

  • The contest is open to all Grade 5 students in Waterloo.
  • Entries must answer the question: What is your one idea to make Waterloo an even better place to live?
  • The format is open. Students can submit a video, letter, song or poem.
  • Each submission must include a complete contest entry form.

Contest deadline

  • Participants must submit entries to the City of Waterloo by 4 p.m. on Friday, March 9, 2018.
  • Entries can be emailed to Nichole Matthews at or delivered to:

Waterloo City Hall
Mayor's office
City of Waterloo
100 Regina St. S.
PO Box 337, Station Waterloo
Waterloo, Ont., N2J 4A8

  • The winners will be notified by the city by Friday, March 23, 2018. Contest entries will not be returned and will become the property of the City of Waterloo. 

Judging details

Entries will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Creativity
  • Originality
  • Overall appeal

Prize details

All eight winners:

  • Attend Mayor Jaworsky's State of the City
  • Enjoy lunch with Mayor Jaworsky
  • Tour different city facilities
  • Conduct media interviews
  • And much more!

2017 Council for the Day contest winners

After reviewing dozens of submissions, Mayor Jaworsky selected the following eight Grade 5 students for his 2017 Council for the Day:

  • Mayor Michaela Sheinin, from Lexington Public School;
  • Ward 1 Councillor Elaine Wen, K-W Bilingual School;
  • Ward 2 Councillor Jacinta Jameson, from Vista Hills Public School;
  • Ward 3 Councillor Uzair Memon, from Northlake Woods Public School;
  • Ward 4 Councillor Jack Sullivan, Lester B. Pearson Public School;
  • Ward 5 Councillor Mackenzie Dupuis, from Mère Élizabeth Bruyère Catholic School;
  • Ward 6 Councillor Grace Kennedy, from Keatsway Public School; and
  • Ward 7 Councillor Parasmai Conjeevaram, from Elizabeth Ziegler Public School.

Thank you to everybody who submitted a contest entry. 

More information

This is an annual contest for any Grade 5 student in Waterloo.

The Grade 5 curriculum is the first time students learn about local government, which makes this a suitable contest for that age group. This is an annual contest that launches in January or February each year.