Region of Waterloo moved to Red-Control level

Posted On Friday November 20, 2020

Today the Province of Ontario announced that the Region of Waterloo will move into the Red-Control category of the Provincial framework at 12:01 a.m. on Monday November 23, 2020. 

According to Medical Officer of Health, Dr. Hsiu-Li Wang, “The spread and circulation of COVID-19 has significantly increased in the community. In the last couple of weeks, we have seen a significant growth in the number of cases and outbreaks across Waterloo Region.

“There are currently 333 active cases of COVID-19 in the community, surpassing our highest reported caseload from the spring. At this time, we have met the updated thresholds for each of the indicators outlined under the Red-Control category of the Provincial framework.

“I continue to recommend that all residents stay home and only leave for essential purposes such as:

    • Going to work
    • Going to school
    • Groceries or take-out
    • Medical appointments
    • Exercising, preferably outdoors”

A number of municipal facilities remain open in the Red-Control category, however, these facilities remain open under greater restrictions and capacity limits. Before attending any facility, please be aware that COVID-19 is circulating throughout the community and please check ahead to identify what restrictions may be in place.

“I appreciate that new restrictions and recommendations are difficult but these are the steps we must take if we are to get COVID-19 under control. If we all work together, to protect each other and our loved ones, our collective efforts will make a difference in Waterloo Region.

“We are stronger when we work together.”

Provincial Red/Control measures include stricter gathering limits, impacts to sports and recreation, increased screening at businesses and more. 


View the Province of Ontario COVID-19 framework for more information.

 

For more information on protocols specific to each municipality, visit:
www.regionofwaterloo.ca
www.kitchener.ca
www.waterloo.ca
www.cambridge.ca
www.woolwich.ca
www.wilmot.ca
www.wellesley.ca
www.northdumfries.ca

-30-

Media contacts:

TJ Flynn, Corporate Communications, Region of Waterloo, tflynn@regionofwaterloo.ca

Bethany Rowland, Corporate Communications, City of Kitchener, bethany.rowland@kitchener.ca

Tony Iavarone, Corporate Communications, City of Waterloo, tony.iavarone@waterloo.ca

Susanne Hiller, Corporate Communications, City of Cambridge, hillers@cambridge.ca

Rae Ann Bauman, Township of Woolwich, rbauman@woolwich.ca 

Kelly Baird, Township of Wilmot, kelly.baird@wilmot.ca

Dawn Mittelholtz, Township of Wilmot dawn.mittelholtz@wilmot.ca

Grace Kosch, Township of Wellesley, gkosch@wellesley.ca

Michelle Poissant, Township of North Dumfries, mpoissant@northdumfries.ca