Area municipalities extend closure of municipal administrative and operations facilities

Posted On Wednesday April 29, 2020

Waterloo Region – As another step in their coordinated emergency response to the global pandemic, today, the Region of Waterloo and all area municipalities extended the public closure of municipal administrative and operations facilities until at least May 31.

Today’s decision aligns the municipalities with Sunday’s announcement from the provincial government delaying the re-opening of the province’s schools until May 31. It is also consistent with the “Framework for Reopening our Province” recently released by the provincial government.

 All local municipalities continue to work together and follow the direction of federal, provincial and regional public health experts to ensure the health and safety of the local community.

Previously-announced closures that remain in effect include:

  • Municipal libraries, cultural and recreation facilities (which includes arenas, pools, sportsfields and community centres) remain closed until at least June 30, with the exception of Regional museums and libraries, which are closed until at least May 31.
  • Outdoor recreation amenities (including playgrounds and skateboard parks) remain closed in alignment with the Provincial Order.

The Region, and all local municipalities, will continue to provide emergency services and other critical services.

Residents are encouraged to visit their respective municipal website for the most up-to-date details about critical services and pandemic responses. Residents, businesses and other municipal customers are encouraged to delay any non-essential business with their respective municipality or to consider conducting business online or by phone, where possible.

For more information, visit:

www.regionofwaterloo.ca
www.kitchener.ca
www.waterloo.ca
www.cambridge.ca
www.woolwich.ca
www.wilmot.ca
www.wellesley.ca
www.northdumfries.ca

-30-

Media contacts

Bryan Stortz, Corporate Communications, Region of Waterloo, bstortz@regionofwaterloo.ca
Jennifer Hassum, Corporate Communications, City of Kitchener, Jennifer.hassum@kitchener.ca
Tony Iavarone, Corporate Communications, City of Waterloo, tony.iavarone@waterloo.ca
Susanne Hiller, Corporate Communications, City of Cambridge, hillers@cambridge.ca
Val Hummel, Township of Woolwich, vhummel@woolwich.ca 
Kelly Baird, Township of Wilmot, kelly.baird@wilmot.ca
Grace Kosch, Township of Wellesley, gkosch@wellesley.ca
Michelle Poissant, Township of North Dumfries, mpoissant@northdumfries.ca