COVID-19 Update: All Remaining Municipal Facilities to close to the public up to and including April 5

Posted On Tuesday March 17, 2020

Waterloo Region – Waterloo Region area municipalities continue to monitor and respond to COVID-19 and follow the recommendations of the federal, provincial and regional public health authorities in making changes to protect the wellbeing of residents and workers.  As a precaution during the evolving global pandemic, over the next 24 hours area municipalities will be closing all remaining municipal facilities to the public up to and including April 5 This includes all city/township halls, regional headquarters and municipal administrative offices – unless access is required to deliver a critical service.

Residents, businesses and other municipal customers are encouraged to delay any non-essential business with their respective municipality or to consider conducting business online or by phone, where possible.

These municipal facility closures are in addition to the closures of recreation and cultural facilities announced earlier.

All emergency services and all services deemed critical by each local municipality will continue. As municipalities continue to monitor the evolving situation, services deemed critical will be subject to change. Residents are encouraged to visit their respective municipal website for the most up-to-date details about critical services and pandemic responses.

For some helpful resources including how to help stop the spread of germs, how to self-isolate, self-monitor and social distancing best practices, visit www.regionofwaterloo.ca/COVID19

For more information, visit


www.regionofwaterloo.ca
www.kitchener.ca
www.waterloo.ca
www.cambridge.ca
www.woolwich.ca
www.wilmot.ca
www.wellesley.ca
www.northdumfries.ca

 

-30-

 

Media contacts

Bryan Stortz, Corporate Communications, Region of Waterloo, bstortz@regionofwaterloo.ca

Jennifer Hassum, Corporate Communications, City of Kitchener, Jennifer.hassum@kitchener.ca

Tony Iavarone, Corporate Communications, City of Waterloo, tony.iavarone@waterloo.ca

Susanne Hiller, Corporate Communications, City of Cambridge, hillers@cambridge.ca

Val Hummel, Township of Woolwich, vhummel@woolwich.ca 

Kelly Baird, Township of Wilmot, kelly.baird@wilmot.ca

Grace Kosch, Township of Wellesley, gkosch@wellesley.ca

Michelle Poissant, Township of North Dumfries, mpoissant@northdumfries.ca