Region and area municipalities making plans to reopen administrative buildings

Posted On Wednesday May 27, 2020

The Region and area municipalities are making tentative plans to begin reopening their administrative buildings and City/Township halls to the public in the coming weeks.

The gradual reopening of facilities will align with provincial direction to reopen more office workplaces in Phase 2 of the Ontario recovery plan, expected to be implemented by mid-June.

On March 18, following provincial recommendations, the Region and area municipalities closed most of their buildings to the public, except for locations delivering essential services. Although the closures were planned until May 31, they will remain in place until early to mid-June.

Regional administrative buildings will tentatively open to the public once the Province proceeds with Stage 2 of their recovery plan. This is expected in early to mid-June.  City and Township administrative buildings will tentatively open to the public beginning June 15, 2020.  As previously announced, City and Township recreation facilities will remain closed until at least June 30.

The Region and area municipalities are developing recovery plans that aim to maximize service to citizens, ensure the health and safety of employees and clients/customers, return laid off staff to work and minimize negative year-end financial impacts. They will provide further updates about program and facility re-openings as the situation evolves over the coming weeks.

Stay tuned for more information on new municipal government business practices that reflect our changing environment. For example:

  • Plexiglas barriers in customer service areas and on buses
  • New rules in our buildings to ensure physical distancing (e.g. limiting the number of people on elevators)
  • More hand sanitizing stations
  • More services available online

Residents are asked to only visit Regional and municipal administration buildings if necessary, schedule appointments where requested/required and adhere to physical distancing guidelines.

For more information on protocols specific to each municipality, visit:
www.regionofwaterloo.ca
www.kitchener.ca
www.waterloo.ca
www.cambridge.ca
www.woolwich.ca
www.wilmot.ca
www.wellesley.ca
www.northdumfries.ca

-30-

Media contacts:

Bryan Stortz, Corporate Communications, Region of Waterloo, bstortz@regionofwaterloo.ca

Jennifer Hassum, Corporate Communications, City of Kitchener, Jennifer.hassum@kitchener.ca

Tony Iavarone, Corporate Communications, City of Waterloo, tony.iavarone@waterloo.ca

Susanne Hiller, Corporate Communications, City of Cambridge, hillers@cambridge.ca

Val Hummel, Township of Woolwich, vhummel@woolwich.ca 

Kelly Baird, Township of Wilmot, kelly.baird@wilmot.ca

Grace Kosch, Township of Wellesley, gkosch@wellesley.ca

Michelle Poissant, Township of North Dumfries, mpoissant@northdumfries.ca