Recreation in Waterloo Region under provincewide shutdown

Posted On Friday April 02, 2021

Waterloo Region will enter the new shutdown as ordered by the Province of Ontario on April 3, 2021. As a result, recreation facilities and community centres in all the cities and townships will be closed, and most rentals and programs within these facilities will be cancelled beginning April 3, 2021 for at least four weeks, pending further direction from the province.

The provincewide shutdown includes gathering limits of five people, and prohibits the use of facilities for outdoor sports game play or practice. Day camps are also required to close, which means that any recreational day camps previously scheduled for the April Break will not be allowed to operate.

These guidelines were part of the announcement by the province regarding the shutdown. The cities and townships of Waterloo Region appreciate everyone’s patience as we review the new provincewide shutdown regulations, and seek clarity to provide further details on sports bookings, April Break camps, and potential refunds. Updates will be provided on municipal websites or to affected parties once available.

Municipal parks, playgrounds and trails remain open for passive recreation, with a gathering limit of five. Only visit parks and trails with members of your immediate household, and maintain physical distancing from other users. If areas are crowded, please consider visiting at another time.

The cities and townships of Waterloo Region will continue our standardized approach in following the provincial regulations for operating recreation facilities and community centres wherever possible.

 

-30-

 

Media contacts:

Susanne Hiller, City of Cambridge, hillers@cambridge.ca

Bethany Rowland, City of Kitchener, bethany.rowland@kitchener.ca 

Cari Van Niekerk, City of Waterloo, cari.vanniekerk@waterloo.ca

Michelle Poissant, Township of North Dumfries, mpoissant@northdumfries.ca

Grace Kosch, Township of Wellesley, gkosch@wellesley.ca

Kelly Baird, Township of Wilmot, kelly.baird@wilmot.ca

Rae Ann Bauman, Township of Woolwich, rbauman@woolwich.ca