Skip navigation
Social Media
Email IconTranslate

Committees of Council

A group of men and women in a meeting

The City of Waterloo's committees of council help shape the future of our community.

They provide advice and feedback to council on a variety of issues, including arts and culture, accessibility, uptown Waterloo and the environment.

Get involved!

Consider getting involved in civic life by volunteering for a committee.  Recruitment for Advisory Committees and Boards is now open!  Applications will be accepted from September 28, 2018 through November 16, 2018 at 8 a.m.

Additional information for each committee including their terms of reference are available on our serving on a committee page. Please note meeting dates and times are approximate and are subject to change based on majority of member availability.


Advisory committees to council

Committee name Staff contact Phone number
Advisory committee on culture Astero Kalogeropoulos 519-747-6124
Audit committee Paul Hettinga 519-747-8765
Community grants committee Jim Bowman 519-747-8748
Uptown vision committee

Ryan Mounsey


Sustainability advisory committee Anna Marie Cipriani 519-747-8645
Waterloo advisory committee on active transportation Louise Finlay 519-747-8744
Waterloo economic development advisory committee

Nancy Gehl


Waterloo park committee Anna Lee Sangster 519-747-8790

Statutory committees

Committee name

Staff contact

Phone number

Appeals tribunal

Julie Scott


Committee of adjustment

Danielle Ingram


Dog designation appeal committee

Julie Scott


Municipal election compliance audit committee

Julie Scott or

Olga Smith



Municipal heritage committee

Chloe Richer


Sign variance committee

Lisa Morrison 519-747-8796

Advisory committee to staff

Committee name Staff contact Phone number
Friends of Waterloo Park advisory committee Andrea Bazler 519-886-2310 x30272
 Waterloo Award Committee Christine Rushton 519 888 6488 x78204

 Inter-agency committees

Committee name Staff contact Phone number
Age friendly Waterloo Nichole Matthews 519-747-8558
Grand River accessibility advisory committee Lolita Paroski 519-886-1177, ext. 27651
Town and gown committee Jim Bowman 519-747-8748


Board name Staff contact Phone number

Waterloo North Hydro board

Rene Gatien


Waterloo Public Library board

Laurie Clarke

519-886-1310, ext. 123