Find election candidates

The following nominations have been filed with the city clerk according to the requirements of the Municipal Elections Act.

Check our nominations page to find out how to become a candidate.


On this page

  1. City of Waterloo candidates
  2. Region of Waterloo candidates
  3. School board candidates
  4. Withdrawn nominations

City of Waterloo candidates

Voters may vote for:

  • up to 1 candidate for mayor
  • up to 1 candidate for the councillor representing their ward

Mayor

NameContactFiling date
Shannon Weber

www.shannonweber.ca

info@shannonweber.ca

May 2 2022

Ward 1 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Sandra Hanmer

hanmer4waterloo@gmail.com

May 5 2022
Robert Parent

robparentward1@gmail.com

July 28 2022

Ward 2 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Royce Bodaly

www.roycebodaly.ca

royce@roycebodaly.ca

226-338-6068

 July 6 2022

Ward 3 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Hans Roach

hans.roach@gmail.com

May 9 2022
Madelyn Steiss

votesteiss@gmail.com

August 12 2022

Ward 4 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Diane Freeman

dianefreeman.ca

freeman4ward4@gmail.com 

 June 9 2022

Ward 5 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Jen Vasic

jenvasic2022.ca 

jenvasic2022@gmail.com 

519-504-5831

May 2 2022

Ward 6 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Matthew Nicholas Schwarze

matthew@matthewschwarze.ca

July 29 2022
Karen Fischer

226-338-7740

August 8 2022
Mason Fitzpatrick mason.fitzpatrick@gmail.com  August 8 2022

Ward 7 councillor

NameContactFiling date
Julie Wright

wrightward7@gmail.com

June 29 2022
Bruce Polan

bpolan.for.ward7@gmail.com

519-897-6938

July 7 2022

Region of Waterloo candidates

Voters may vote for:

  • up to 1 candidate for regional chair
  • up to 2 candidates for regional councillor

Regional chair

NameContactFiling date
Narine Dat Sookram

www.narinedatsookram.com

electnarinesookram@gmail.com

519-579-4680

May 2 2022
Karen Redman

redman4region@gmail.com

519-577-8248

May 16 2022

Regional councillor

NameContactFiling date

Jim Erb

jimaerb@gmail.com

May 9 2022

John Vieth

vieth4region@selfip.ca July 15 2022

Peter Neufeld

peteneufeld72@gmail.com

226-749-4819

July 15 2022

Mark Fisher

markforRC@gmail.com

August 12 2022

School board candidates

Voters may only vote for candidates nominated for the school board they support.

For the school board they support, voters may vote for:

  • up to 3 candidates for Waterloo Region District School Board
  • up to 2 candidates for Waterloo Catholic District School Board
  • up to 1 candidate for Conseil Scolaire Viamonde
  • up to 1 candidate for Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir

Trustee, Waterloo Catholic District School Board

NameContactFiling date
Conrad Stanley

voteconradstanley@outlook.com

August 3 2022
Linda Cuff

lindajcuff@gmail.com

519-497-2819

August 5 2022

Trustee, Waterloo Region District School Board

NameContactFiling date
Scott Piatkowski

www.scottpiatkowski.ca

scott@scottpiatkowski.ca

519-577-2554

May 2 2022
George Schmidt

george@georgeschmidt.ca

519-574-9903

May 30 2022
Martin Mirt

martinmirt2022@gmail.com

519-404-9185

July 12 2022
Cristina Bairos-Fernandes

cristina.bf@pm.me

519-571-4942

July 13 2022
Marie Snyder

marie4trustee.wixsite.com/marie-4-trustee

marie4trustee@gmail.com

519-578-7981

July 15 2022
Kathleen Woodcock

kathleenwoodcock2022@gmail.com

226-929-3101

August 5 2022 
Franklin Ramsoomair

jayfr99@gmail.com

519-500-3198

August 12 2022

Membre du Conseil, Conseil Scolaire Viamonde pour représenter la Région de Waterloo et les Comtés de Wellington, Middlesex, Perth et Huron

NameContactFiling date
Joseph Vandermeer

 joseph.j.vandermeer@gmail.com

 August 12 2022

Conseiller/Conseillère, Conseil Scolaire Catholique MonAvenir pour représenter la Région de Waterloo et les Comtés de Brant, Haldimand et Norfolk

NameContactFiling date
Éric Sanderson

eric_sanderson2022@outlook.com

July 22 2022
Dorothée Petit-Pas

petitpas.dorothee@yahoo.ca

519-865-1354

August 8 2022
Gilles Roy

gilles_j_roy@hotmail.com

August 12 2022

Withdrawn nominations

No nominations have been withdrawn at this time.


For more information contact our elections office at 519-747-8704, TTY 1-866-786-3941 or elections@waterloo.ca.