Skip navigation
Social Media
Email IconTranslate

Levels of Government

A group of people gather in a public space

Residents in the City of Waterloo have access to three levels of government: municipal - which includes the city and Region of Waterloo, provincial and federal. This is a two-tier municipality with both city and regional governments.

Visit each level of government's website through the links below to familiarize yourself with the programs and services they provide.

Municipal - City

The City of Waterloo is responsible for a wide range of programs and services that impact your day-to-day lives, including snow clearing, leaf pickup, recreational, cultural and leisure programs, fire services, by-law enforcement and economic development, among others. We also maintain city roads, sewers, parks and facilities.

Learn more about your mayor and council.

Municipal - Regional

The Region of Waterloo is responsible for ambulance and police services, garbage collection, public health (including immunizations), public transit, taxis, and social services, among others.

The region is comprised of three cities - Cambridge, Kitchener and Waterloo - and four townships - North Dumfries, Wellesley, Wilmot and Woolwich.

Your city representatives on regional government are Mayor Dave Jaworsky, Coun. Jane Mitchell and Coun. Sean Strickland.


The Province of Ontario is responsible for public education, health care, provincial highways, social services and the administration of justice, among others.

Your member of provincial parliament is Catherine Fife.


The Government of Canada is responsible for foreign affairs, citizenship, criminal law, trade regulations, the census and national defence, among others.

Your member of Parliament is The Honourable Bardish Chagger.