Skip navigation
Social Media
Email IconTranslate

Mayor and Council

Group shot of councilGroup shot of council

Waterloo city council is comprised of the mayor and seven ward councillors.

All council members are elected for a four-year term. The mayor is elected at large by all voters in the city and councillors are elected by voters within their specific wards

Members of city council meet at regularly scheduled council and committee meetings throughout the year, as well as at special council meetings as needed.

Council members may also be appointed to local or regional committees and task forces.

More information